Dubai Dubai

Aerial View

Last August 26, my colleagues and I went to Dubai for a business trip. Of course, I wouldn’t miss this opportunity to shoot places around Dubai and breathe in the city. After all, it’s one of the most sought after cities in the world and I’m one of the privileged to be here for almost a month.

I don’t have the best impression of Dubai especially because of what I have heard from family and friends who have already been there. When I think of Dubai, I think of danger, crimes, MERS COV virus, and of course, unusual smell from people of different cultures. I admit, I was scared of the mere fact that I’m going to Middle East.
I was really surprised of how good-looking these local Arab men were. Like seriously, while I was being interviewed by the immigration, I was just staring at the man’s face. Before, Pakistanis, Indians, and Arabs are all bumbays (a term pinoys use to refer to people from the Middle East) to me because I thought they all looked the same, but now I can really distinguish them from one another.

The moment we got out of the airport, this basement-parking-like heat welcomed us. It was around 5:30PM but the temperature was at 45 degrees celsius. I tell you, this place is the hottest I’ve been. Not even the Philippines’ hottest can compare. I immediately thought about my pores being open the whole time and getting breakouts — arrrgh that would be horrible!IMG_4891Unlike other countries I’ve been to, heavy traffic seems to be normal in Dubai but still it’s not comparable to our traffic. 

IMG_5166

First thing you need to know about Dubai is how to get around, in this case, you get around by Metro (their version of MRT and LRT in the Philippines but waaaaaay better), cabs, and buses. Notice that the men do not go beyond the pink line (ladies and children area) ‘cuz if they do and they get caught, that’s AED100 (around P1,200) down the drain, baby.

IMG_4744 (1)

 If you do not have a photographic memory then I suggest you get a Dubai Metro Guide available at any of the metro stations ‘cuz where to get on and get off can be confusing at times.

Processed with VSCOcam with kk1 preset

I still couldn’t believe I had been to Burj Khalifa. It is the tallest building in the world for crying out loud! For more facts about this 160-storey building, you may read it here.

IMG_4761 (1)

There’s not a star in sight in the sky of Dubai

Oh! And, would you believe that people here use their iPhones to save a seat at the FoodCourt? Yes, I know it’s kinda unbelievable but it is true! My friend once left her MacBook Air and surprisingly it was still there. Apparently, we’ve been told that people in Dubai are kinda hesitant to steal because they might end up in jail or worse, get their hands cut off. Scary!

These trees are Dates. They’re  all over Dubai and they’re kinda the trademark of UAE.

IMG_4893

If you are a fan of amazingly constructed skyscrapers, then Dubai is the place to be. The buildings and establishments here are just one of a kind. It’s like there are no two buildings alike – everything’s unique. These pictures do not even compare to the real ones.

IMG_5112 IMG_5113

Their version of Starbucks. AWESOME!

I love how infrastructures really look awesome in this man-made world. You definitely wouldn’t wanna take your eyes off them and these buildings would literally make your phones die of continuously capturing them. So yeah, I suggest you bring your powerbank for emergency purposes. And when you visit, make sure you go to the must-go places here in Dubai – like Desert Safari and Atlantis which will be posted on my blog soon!

Madinat Jumeirah3

Souk Madinat Jumeirah is their version of a marketplace or bazaar. It’s unbelievable how this place is ONLY a bazaar/shopping mall. So extravagant!

Costa

Burj Al Arab

A view of Burj Al Arab from Madinat Jumeirah. That building is a hotel by the way.

IMG_5263

Ride the boats at Madinat Jumeirah for a full experience!

Madinat Jumeirah2

IMG_5247

There’s also the Dubai Fountain, the world’s largest choreographed fountain system set on the 30-acre manmade Burj Khalifa Lake at the center of Downtown Dubai Mall. When I went there to capture the moment, I was really surprised when a local Arab came up to me and offered to capture the whole thing while I stand and watch it. I was really hesitant at first because you don’t expect people in the Philippines to just hand their smart phones to strangers because that just might be their “modus operandi”. In the end, I handed him my iPhone and just hoped for the best, ha ha ha!

Dubai Fountain

I hope this blogpost gave you a different perspective of Dubai. In truth, Dubai is a really safe place, has amazing people, and great food (aaah you should taste their shawarma), very fast-paced, and though it’s really, really hot in the summer, expect Dubai to be at 10 degrees or celsius or less in the winter (from mid October to January, I think). And of course, my trip wouldn’t be possible if not for Juan Love Travel and Tours. You guys are the best! You may follow them on Instagram, @juanlovetravel and Like them on Facebook if you wanna have that affordable yet luxurious travels to everywhere around the world. What are you waiting for?

PS

Here’s a video of my Dubai escapades in a nutshell! Hope you enjoy watching it.

 

XO,

Lara

Leave a Reply

